July 30th 6:30am - So, I am off. First thoughts? Aaaaaaghhh! WHAT DID I GET MYSELF INTO! Totally rushed the packing, totally rushed my check-in. I know in my gut that worrying like this helps nothing, but here I am. I am reminded of the old saying "worrying is like a rockingchair, it helps pass the time, but gets you nowhere." I am rocking away right now. To all of my friends and family out there, I am sorry
for my rushed goodbyes (or no goodbyes). Why I stress ou
t like this is beyond me and those closest to me feel it the most. I can think of a dozen people I wanted to see before I left that I didn't for whatever reason. Hopefully they are reading this message and know that they are on my mind.

So, my luggage made it on plane #1 (I saw it go on) let's hope it makes it all the way. My worst nightmare is that my luggage carrying my life for the next year doesn't make it or are opened at customs and not able to be closed again. I wonder what happens then?
Well, I will continue to jot down my thoughts throughout this trip to Japan. I won't be able to post thi
s until I land in Japan, but hopefully people enjoy reading about the journey.
July 30 11:25am - Hmmm, finally calming down. Something about the idea of a flight to Hawaii that brings peace to the mind. I am still thinking about he bags, but there is nothing I can do about them now. I
think the steady stream of r&b and Drake I have playing in my ears is helping too.
This journey is a trip, gone for a year... Excitement mixes with feelings of apprehension to the extreme changes that are ahead.
I am eating like I am on vacation, there had better be a gym I can join right when I get
there.
So I know people are wondering "Elliot, enough of this feelings talk, what are the people you are sitting next to like?!" So far not too bad, a sleeper on the first flight, no convo there. Now I am next to some little kid obviously not used to being up as early as he had to be to make this flight. The first few minutes of the flight were spent whining about video games, all is well now though.
That's all for now, more to come as the journey unfolds.
July 30 3:04pm - Wow, so worst nightmares realized... My bags didn't arrive in Honolulu. I am now about 45 minutes into mt 7.5 hour flight to Japan and I have no checked bags on the flight. The baggage people had no idea where my bags ended up after landing in Portland. I hope this is taken care of soon, I have nothing to wear besides the clothes on my back and a bunch of pairs of jeans. This is an interesting start to a crazy trip. Not sure what I am going to do while I wait for my stuff to show up. Hmmmm. Good story to tell later.On a positive note, Japanese Air is the way to travel... Games, shows, personal screens. Good stuff. This will help pass the time during this painfully long flight. You better believe I will be studying up on my customs/language on the way (when I am not sleeping).

July 31st 9:00 (Japanese time -16 hours ahead of Spokane- from now on) -
Well, I am "home" now and as
settled in as a person with only one carry on bag in their possession can be. We spent a long time trying to find my bags, and still no luck. They have been great here, trying their best to find my things and making sure i am comfortable. Mayumi, our guide through the first days here and an employee of the center we will be working from, took myself and another ALT, Michelle, out to dinner and it was great, Sushi and Tempura. I found some articles in my bag that will
keep me surviving through the next few days so I am not as worried as before. Sorry for the scattered thoughts, must be the jet lag. I like the apartment and will post some pics soon.

Glad you made it safe and sound!! Now if your luggage will only follow suit.... When do you start teaching?
ReplyDeleteHey honey...nice to see you out of your comfort zone! I wish the hussle at the airport could have been calmer. We didn't really get a chance to say good bye..but that's OK. You know how I feel, and I know how you feel...well, maybe a bit more annoyed than I, but I know we're solid.Anyway.. If you're handling the hassles as well as your writing...you're just fine. I couldn't be more excited for you. This is just what you needed and you are where you belong for now. Cherish these experiences and challenges...Remember that at my age there aren't many "firsts" and that's what you're experiencing...SO many firsts. Soak 'em up. You'll have stories to share with friends, family and years from now, your own family.
ReplyDeleteIt was good to hear your voice last night. Someone here will educate my on the skype camera.
I moved a lot of the big stuff today with the Roses. I gave Mike your key and storage information. He said he'd get it washed.
I haven't heard from the Dist. yet about the computer, but I'm sure I will.
I'm very happy for you. You will make an excellent teacher and I believe, will change lives.
Atsumi and Mesako are darling and want me to take your winter clothes to them so they can bring them to you.
Stay positive and open. Your life will never be the same. And that's a good thing. Remember when I told all three of you.."Education...Travel...Marriage." You're right on track. Your 20's will fly by, and you will have so much to show for them..a bazillion experiences and memories.
OK..enough of the Mom.
I love you E...xox Mom
Hey Elj
ReplyDeleteGot a chance to go through all your postings and find is fascinating and a little unbelievable that you are actually there and into it a such a good way.
I enjoyed our little chat on Skype and we will do more of this soon. Love the blog--keep it updated so those of us on this side of the Pacific can have an idea how your life is going. I am very proud of you and look forward to speaking with you on Skype.
Dad